Magnificent Mathematicians Have Sum Fun

Coeducation is education for life. Naturally

Magnificent Mathematicians Have Sum Fun

All Saints’ College students had some fun when they were awarded two firsts, three seconds and a fifth placing in the Mathematical Association of Western Australia’s (MAWA) Have Sum Fun Face-to-Face competitions and Have Sum Fun Online competition.

Thirty students represented All Saints’ across three different competitions including a Years 11 and 12 combined team, two Years 8/9/10 teams and two Years 5/6/7 teams in the annual Have Sum Fun quizzes held in Term 1.

The students were congratulated on their outstanding achievements with certificates and trophies presented by MAWA representative Dr Jack Bana during each of the three events held in March.

Have Sum Fun was launched by MAWA in 1990 and All Saints’ has participated in the competition for many years.

This year saw the beginning of All Saints’ College hosting the Primary Division at which one of the Years 5/6/7 teams achieved first place with a perfect score.  The three teams in the Lower and Upper Secondary Divisions achieved second places, narrowly missing out on first place by a single point.

Equally successful were the four Year 9 students representing All Saints’ College in the Have Sum Fun Online mathematics competition early in Term 2.  The students completed three rounds of 10 questions in the National online quiz against 88 teams and were awarded first place.

“All Saints’ College is widely regarded as the dominant co-educational force in Mathematics Competitions throughout the State,” Head of Mathematics, Phil Brockbank said.

The students have won many competitions as well as received High Distinctions, Prizes and Medals across competitions such as AMC, ICAS and AIC.


Interschool Have Sum Fun Competition 2013

Primary Team (First Place)

Jacob Smith (Year 7)

Grace Tang (Year 7)

Aidan Smith (Year 6)

Catherine Choong (Year 6)

Ellen Smith (Year 5)

Rexton Ly (Year 5)


Lower Secondary Team (Second Place)

Marcus Wong (Year 10)

Asriel Yap (Year 10)

Jonathan Morgan (Year 9)

Jesslyn Tyrls (Year 9)

Andy Law (Year 8)

Jacob Smith (Year 7)


Upper Secondary Team (Second Place)

Edward Yoo (Year 12)

Giada Marani (Year 12)

Adam Millachip (Year 12)

Benjamin Chia (Year 11)

Seamus Mulholland-Patterson (Year 11)

Jacqueline Soon (Year 11)


National Have Sum Fun Online Competition 2013


Year 9 Team (First Place)

Jonathan Morgan

Joshlynne Tjandra

Jayden White-Smith

Julia Zheng