All Saints’ College students have again dominated the recent Have Sum Fun Mathematics Competition, with all teams finishing in first or second position.

The Year 11 / 12 team took out first place on Friday night, while the Years 5 / 6, Years 7 / 8 and Years 9 / 10 teams all took out second spot on the Saturday.

Head of Mathematics, Mr Phil Brockbank, was proud of the teams who he said competed strongly against, in some cases, 41 other teams from across the region.

“Our full set of results are very positive and the depth of talent All Saints’ College enjoys in mathematics is truly inspiring,” he said. “All of the teams’ performances were unique and worthy in their own way.

“From the Year 11 / 12 team who took out top spot in their division, to the 7 / 8 team which placed second out of 41 competitors, there are many stories of achievement that need to be recognised,” he added.

The Have Sum Fun Competition is run by the Mathematical Association of WA and comprises of three divisions; south of the river, north of the river and country. The 5 / 6 competition was a state-wide combined event.

This competition is run like a quiz night and has four rounds of questions; each round consisting of eight questions, with 20 minutes given to complete each round.


  • our Year 11 /12 team placed first in the competition, ahead of Rossmoyne SHS and Penrhos College;
  • our Year 9/10 team, competing against 30 other teams, placed second behind Scotch College and ahead of Penrhos College;
  • our Year 7/8 team, competing against 41 other teams, came second behind Christ Church Grammar School and ahead of Shenton College;
  • and our Year 5/6 team competed against 28 other teams to place second in Western Australia, ahead of Hale School in third place.

Year 11 / 12

Team members: Jacob Smith, Aron Thian and Joanne Luo (Year 12). Aidan Smith, Shevanka Dias and Bartholomew Tang (Year 11).

Year 9 / 10

Team members: Remi Hart, James Lund, Ellen Smith (Year 10) and Lucas Ho, Kelly Briggs and Michelle Thesman (Year 9). They competed against 30 other teams.

Year 7 / 8

Team members: Xiaoyu Chen, Julius Clegg and Adeola Adeoye (Year 8). Oliver Wright, Zoe Dallimore and Jason Chan (Year 7). They competed against 41 other teams.

Year 5 / 6

Team members: Akinshola Akinyemi, Zoey Chia and Matthew Zatella (Year 5). Kerry Cao, David Duff and Ben Tang (Year 6). They competed against 28 other teams.