All Saints' College Principal with students


Ms Belinda Provis, Principal of All Saints’ College (ASC) in Bull Creek, has been shortlisted as School Principal of the Year (Non-government) at the 2019 national Australian Education Awards. Ms Provis is the only Western Australian in the list of eight finalists.

Ms Provis was shortlisted for her work in transforming ASC into a ‘lighthouse school’ of innovation, social enterprise and values-driven learning.

She said she felt humbled to have been nominated for the Award by members of the College staff.

“It is a great privilege to be part of the dedicated team of staff at All Saints’ College,” Ms Provis said. “It is a staff united in our quest to help nurture young people who, armed with a strong suite of skills, a clear set of values and a positive sense of self, will thrive.”

Since joining All Saints’ as Principal in mid-2013, Ms Provis has overseen the launch of Propeller Industries, the College’s centre for enterprise and innovation, as well as Runway, a pop-up shop for students to sell their own products and services. Additionally, the College established HotHouse Company, an innovation hub for the arts, as well as Catalyst, the College’s centre for social enterprise. In 2018, the College launched Djoowak: The Beyond Boundaries Institute, a think-tank dedicated to best pedagogical practice in developing future-capable young people, and this year the College launched The Agency, the College’s student employment agency.

Internationally recognised education transformer from the University of Kansas, Prof. Yong Zhao, endorsed Belinda’s nomination, saying, “Belinda is definitely one of the most amazing and innovative school principals in education. She has a very open mind and the courage to embrace new ideas which open up new possibilities.”

Professor Zhao added, “Belinda never stops learning and is constantly renewing herself, but she also has something seldom seen in a leader – a moral commitment to education and to young people.”

Winners of the Australian Education Awards 2019, across 24 categories, will be announced on Friday, 16 August at an awards ceremony in Dockside, Sydney.